This page was last updated: March 21, 2011
I was unable to go to this year's team roping so I don't have personal photos or videos to post. However a friend Phyllis Johnson has graciously provided her photos.  Thank you Phyllis for sharing your wonderful pictures. 

The following is the information and results as released by

San Antonio, TX (March 12, 2011) – The finals for the 29th Annual George Strait Team Roping Classic were held today at the Rose Palace in San Antonio. Forty-two year old David Key from Stephenville, TX and twenty-three year old Jade Corkill from Fallen, Nevada are the new Grand Champions. Fifty teams returned to compete in today’s finals from nearly 500 teams who competed Friday in the preliminaries. This year, founder George Strait made a significant change to how ropers qualified for Saturday finals and cowboys welcomed the new system.

In years past, first day qualifying included two rounds of eliminations with all teams competing together. This year, the 500 teams were broken down into groups of 50 and the Top 5 fastest times from each round qualified for Saturday’s finals. The change resulted in ropers competing against only 49 other ropers versus 100s at a time and an even playing field with the steers in their rotation.

“The new qualifying systems is the fairest way to do it,” says Key. “In the past, the first ropers sometimes got the short end of the stick because it is harder to rope those steer. The later it went the easier it got. No doubt about it this is better.”

“It’s a little more nerve-racking,” admitted Corkill who won the prestigious event in 2009. “When it’s your rotation, you have to be on your game. Before, you might know if you roped a certain time you’d make it in, now it’s all depends on what happens in your rotation.”

Grand Champions Key (Header) and Corkill (Heeler) finished with a 15.62 combined time (3 go rounds) and rode away with custom painted GSTRC Championship Chevy Silverado Duallies from Cavendar Chevrolet (Boerne, TX), Strait X-treme horse trailers from Bruton Trailers, Twister saddles from Tractor Supply, Resitol roping bags, jackets from Wrangler and Justin, Montaqna Silver Smith Belt Buckles and half of the $174,600 cash payoff.

Both agreed Strait’s event is the “roping of a lifetime.” “This roping changes lives,” said Key. “People can work all year and don’t make this kind of money. It’s something I have dreamed about for the 20 plus years I have been coming. Thank you Jesus! Thank you George!” Corkill added, “Twelve days ago my son was born. It can’t get any better than that. Winning today ranks number 2 on my list. It’s been a great 12 days in my life!”

The total cash payoff of this year’s GSTRC was $522,500. Add in prizes and the cash value awarded this weekend was over $650,000.

Second place winners, Spencer Mitchell and Cody Cowden took home $69,840 and prizes with a time of 16.10. Third place went to Camish Jennings and Wade Clayton with a time of 16.84. They won $48,016 and other prizes. The 50 Finalists were awarded custom-made 29th Annual GSTRC jackets from Wrangler and Justin.

The 29th Annual George Strait Team Roping Classic (GSTRC) took place Friday and Saturday, March 11 & 12, 2011 at the San Antonio Rose Palace in San Antonio, Texas. The event, which originated as a small family roping by George and his late brother Buddy in 1982, has grown into the most prestigious open Team Roping competition in the country with hundreds of thousands of dollars up for grabs each year. The GSTRC consistently attracts the biggest names in the sport each year but is not just for the big names. As an open roping, ropers of all levels may compete alongside each other for a chance at the big winnings.

Sponsors for the 2011 GSTRC include Cavender Chevrolet, Bruton Trailers, Wayne Wright Lawyers, Bill Millers BBQ, Tractor Supply Company, Cactus Ropes, Justin Boots, Resistol, Wrangler, LiftMaster, Frost Bank, Classic Ropes, Bar G Feedyard, Montana Silversmiths, Hill Country/Kioti Tractors, Brake Check and Capitol Farm Credit


Place Time Header Heeler Total Per Roper
1st 15.62 David Key Jade Corkill $174,600 $87,300
2nd 16.10 Spencer Mitchell Cody Cowden $69,840 $34,920
3rd 16.84 Camish Jennings Wade Clayton $48,016 $24,008
4th 17.33 Nick Rawlings Richard Durham $43,650 $21,825
5th 17.48 Colby Schneeman BJ Dugger $34,920 $17,460
6th 18.59 Cody Owens Jed Middleton $26,190 $13,095
7th 20.67 Keven Daniel Allen Bach $21,824 $10,912
8th 21.16 Anthony Lucia Buddy Hawkins $17,460 $8730


Place Time Header Heeler Total Per Roper
1st 4.49 Brock Hanson Clay Cooper $3,000 $1,500
2nd 4.13 Derrick Begay Cory Petska $3,000 $1,500
3rd 4.88 David Motes Ryan Motes $3,000 $1,500


4.13 Derrick Begay Cory Petska $20,000 $10,000


1st Rotation
Bradley Massey Brent Lockett $4,620 $2,310
Colt Fisher Jeremy Mercer $3,080 $1,540
2nd Rotation
Aaron Tsinigine Clint Harry $4,620 $2,310
Aaron Tsinigine Cory Petska $3,080 $1,540
3rd Rotation
Matt Adams Chad Mathis $4,620 $2,310
Brandon Beers Ryan Motes $3,080 $1,540
4th Rotation
Garrett Tonozzi Broc Cresta $4,620 $2,310
Spencer Mitchell Cody Cowden $3,080 $1,540
5th Rotation
Casey Gattis Billy Bob Brown $4,620 $2,310
Kolton Schmidt Tyrell Flewelling $3,080 $1,540
6th Rotation
Trevor Brazile Kory Koontz $4,620 $2,310
Luke Brown Martin Lucero $3,080 $1,540
7th Rotation
Brad Hamilton JW Cotton $4,620 $2,310
Chad Masters Jade Corkill $3,080 $1,540
8th Rotation
David Key Clay Cooper $4,620 $2,310
Quincy Kueckelhan Paul Eaves $3,080 $1,540
9th Rotation
Brady Tryan Jake Long $4,620 $2,310
Derrick Begay Cory Petska $3,080 $1,540
10th Rotation
Jake Cooper Jake Long $4,620 $2,310
Charley Crawford Russell Cardoza $3,080 $1,540
77000 38500


1 Nick Sartain Russell Cardoza
2 Anthony Lucia Buddy Hawkins
3 Keven Daniel Allen Bach
4 Tee Woolman Calvin Taylor
5 Casey Hicks Billy Jack Saebens
6 Blake Hughes Steve Orth
7 Colby Schneeman BJ Dugger
8 Luke Brown Martin Lucero
9 Cooper Wimberly James Gililland
10 Cody Owens Jed Middleton
11 Nelson Linares Jonathon Torres
12 Matt Robertson John Robertson
13 Anthony Lucia Seth Jones
14 Drew Horner Allen Bach
15 Casey Gattis Jaytin McCright
16 JD Yates Caleb Twisselman
17 Blake Teixeira Ryan Mayfield
18 Kaleb Drigger Travis Woodard
19 Charley Crawford Dakota Kirchenschlager
20 Nick Rawlings Richard Durham
21 Luke Brown Patrick Smith
22 Bubba Buckaloo Monty Joe Petska
23 Spencer Mitchell Cody Cowden
24 Kelsey Parchman Walt Woodard
25 Turtle Powell Russell Cardoza
26 Chad Masters Jade Corkill
27 Brad Hamilton JW Cotton
28 Kolton Schmidt Bryan Bacon
29 David Motes Ryan Motes
30 Colby Lovell Cory Petska
31 Shank Edwards Austin Adams
32 David Key Jake Corkill
33 Camish Jennings Wade Clayton
34 Brady Tryan Paul Eaves
35 Casey Gattis Billy Bob Brown
36 Charley Crawford Russell Cardoza
37 Derick Fleming Rhen Richard
38 Derrick Begay Cesar De La Cruz
39 Shain Sproul Nano Garza
40 Brock Hanson Clay Cooper
41 Willie Guerra Shane Durbin
42 Kevin Stewart Travis Woodard
43 Bradley Massey Brent Lockett
44 Garrett Tonozzi Cody Cowden
45 Colt Fisher Jeremy Mercer
46 Colby Siddoway Caleb Twisselman
47 Trevor Brazile Patrick Smith
48 Aaron Tsinigine Cory Petska
49 Derrick Begay Cory Petska
50 Aaron Tsinigine Clint Harry
Reed Flake of Rodeo Video interiews the winners and George Strait for the 2011 GSTRC video that will be available soon

For additional information or photos go to the or websites.

I fully intend to go to next year's Team Roping, which will be the 30th Strait.  I sure don't want to miss it, as I am sure that the Straits will make it a special event.